Award-winning research

  • 2016: Kim Wilkins & David Carter awarded an ARC Discovery Project 2016; Dr Jessica White awarded an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award 2016.
  • 2015: Nicholas Carah awarded Best Paper of 2014 for "Brand value: how affective labour helps create brands" Consumption, Markets and Culture 17:4, 346 - 366.
  • 2014: Skye Doherty awarded the inaugural Walkley Grant for journalism innovation.
  • 2013: Amelia Barikin awarded the Arts Faculty Research Excellence Award and Gillian Whitlock awarded the Council of Editors of Learned Journals Prize at the MLA confrence in Boston for best special issue for the 'Posthuman Lives' issue of Biography (co-edited with G T Couser).
  • 2012: Stephen Carleton awarded the Arts Faculty Creative Research Award.
  • 2011: Joanne Tompkins won the Marlis Thiersch best essay prize (from ADSA) for "Site-specific Theatre and Political Engagement across Space and Time: The Psychogeographic Mapping of British Petroleum in Platforms and While London Burns" Theatre Journal 63.2 (2011): 225 - 243.  Rex Butler awarded one of the Top 10 Research Publications (Research Output Points) for the UQ Q-Index Awards and Kim Wilkins awarded Arts Faculty Creative Research Excellence Award.

Award-winning teaching

  • 2018: UQ Awards for Excellence: UQ Drama Award for Programs that Enhance Learning (Stephen Carleton, Bernadette Cochrane, Rob Pensalfini, and Chris Hay)
  • 2018: Chris Hay and Rob Pensalfini awarded a Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Seed Funding grant for their project "UQ DRAMA: Technology and Public Speaking”
  • 2016: UQ Awards for Excellence: UQ Drama Commendation for Teaching Excellence (Stephen Carleton, Bernadette Cochrane, and Rob Pensalfini
  • 2016: Bernadette Cochrane awarded a Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Seed Funding grant for her project "UQ DRAMA: Enhancing the New Curriculum: Creating Digital Resources focusing on Industry and Education"
  • 2016: Judith Seaboyer awarded the Australian Government Department of Education and Training Australian Awards for University Teaching 2016 Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning for developing sustainable, feedback-rich, technology-assisted assessment strategies that markedly increase pre-class reading, engagement & learning and fosters pleasure in literary studies.
  • 2016: Kim Wilkins & Skye Doherty awarded a 2016 Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Seed Funding grant for their "Creativity and Entrepreneurship" proposal.
  • 2015: Judith Seaboyer awarded a UQ Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.
  • 2014: Sally Butler awarded a UQ Teaching Excellence Award and Bronwyn Lea awarded a citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning in the Office for Learning and Teaching.
  • 2013: Bronwyn Lea awarded a Commendation in the UQ Excellence in Research Higher Degree Supervision Awards.
  • 2012: Andrea Bubenik awarded an Arts Faculy Teaching Excellence Award.
  • 2011: Jane Stadler awarded ALTC National Teaching Excellence Award, Roslyn Petelin awarded ALTC National Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning and Venero Armanno awarded UQ Leading Researcher Q-Index Award for Higher Degree Research Completions. 

Well-respected in our fields

  • 2015: Joanne Tompkins Prize for Journal Editorship created by The Australasian Association for Theatre, Drama and Performance Studies; Stephen Carleton awarded the Griffin Award for New Australian Playwriting for his work The Turquoise Elephant; Joanne Tompkins received an honorary doctorate from University of London.
  • 2014: Kim Wilkins awarded the Aurealis Award for Best Horror Short Fiction with The Year of Ancient Ghosts and was nominated for the award again in 2015.
  • 2012: Gillian Whitlock became Vice President and International Secretary of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and was also Member of the Humanities and Creative Arts panel of the Excellence in Research Australia national research evaluation.
  • 2011: Joanne Tompkins became a Member of the ARC College of Experts for Humanities and Creative Arts (2011-2013); David Carter was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities (FAHA); Gillian Whitlock was appointed to Council of the Australian Academy of the Humanities and the ARC Laureate panel and Bronwyn Lea was appointed as inaugural editor of Australian Poetry Journal.
  • 2010: Gillian Whitlock elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities (FAHA) and was also a member of the Miles Franklin Judging panel (2010-2012); Bronwyn Lea won the John Bray Poetry Prize in the South Australian Premier's Literary Awards; John Harrison awarded the APRA award for excellence in journalism.

Leaders in our community

  • 2018Bernadette Cochrane invited to be a board member of Migrant Dramaturgies Network, the international research network developed in partnership with New Tides Platform (UK) and the Centre for Theatre Research at the University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • 2015: Carole Ferrier named Peacewoman Award winner 2015 by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.
  • 2015: Scott Downman in collaboration with Woodridge State High School students, won a Communications and Media Achievement award for Change Makers as part of the 2015 Queensland Multicultural Awards.
  • 2014: Stuart Glover was Founding Chair of the Queensland Literary Awards.
  • 2013: Stuart Glover awarded the Johnno award by the Queensland Writers Centre, in recognition of his decades of outstanding service to Queensland writers and writing.
  • 2012: Scott Downman awarded the Future Justice Prize for future justice leadership and initiative; Rob Pensalfini awarded the UQ Diversity Award for his Shakespeare in Prison Project.
  • 2011: David Carter awarded UQ Vice-Chancellor's Award for Internationalisation.
  • 2010: Stuart Glover appointed a member of the Literature Board of the Australia Council for a three year term.