Postgraduate Scholarships and Prizes

A variety of scholarships and prizes are available to students within the School of Communication and Arts. The values, requirements, and application procedures of these awards vary greatly, and students are urged to study the list carefully to determine those most appropriate to their plans and achievements. For undergraduate and honours scholarships and prizes click here.



Kinnane PhD Scholarship in Art History and Museum Studies

Established in 2017, the scholarship is maintained by the income of a perpetual endowment fund from a bequest to The University of Queensland under the will of Paula Ruth Kinnane, who graduated from The University of Queensland in 1991 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. The scholarship recognises Tony and Paula Kinnane who were lifetime lovers of art, art galleries, and collected art for their own pleasure, and to support emerging art museum professionals and art museums, especially in rural and regional Australia. The scholarship is open to Higher Degree by Research students in the disciplines of art history or museum studies applying to the Doctor of Philosophy in Art History by Exhibition program, which includes the curating of an exhibition as part of the doctoral research. The value of the scholarship includes a living allowance equal to the current UQGSS rate (2023 rate, c. $32,000 pa tax free) plus top up funding for research. The next application round will commence in 2025 at the earliest. More information on the scheme can be found here.


The Lucy Morris Stevens Scholarship

 Established in 2010, the Lucy Morris Stevens Scholarship provides full relief of residence fees at Emmanuel College for a student studying in the areas of Drama/Theatre/Performance Studies or English at the University of Queensland.  The scholarship is open to Postgraduate and Undergraduate students (second year or above), though preference may be given to students enrolled in a postgraduate research higher degree.  The student should have outstanding academic results and have a desire to make a positive contribution to the life of Emmanuel College.

The Alfred Midgley Postgraduate Scholarship 

 It was established by a bequest from the estate of Zoe Ann Burnett, in memory of her grandfather the late Dr Alfred Midgley.  Dr Midgley contributed to many aspects of early Queensland life.  He was a member of the ninth Queensland parliament, an early published Queensland poet, and a minister in the Methodist Church. Zoe Ann Burnett graduated in Arts from The University of Queensland in 1948 and was awarded a Master of Literary Studies in 1989.

The amount of the scholarship will be $6000 per annum for a maximum of three years.  One or more scholarships may be awarded each year, on the recommendation of the Head of School.

More information

The Cecilie Anne Sloane Postgraduate English Creative Writing Research Scholarship 

Established in 2006, the Sloane Scholarship was established in memory of a former tutor and lecturer in the English Department, Cecilie Anne Sloane.  It is maintained by the income of a perpetual endowment fund set up by a bequest from Ron and Helen Diamond.  The scholarship takes the form of a $2000 PhD top-up scholarship for the best Creative Writing candidate to be confirmed each year and is intended to assist the student whose project shows the greatest promise in both its creative and critical components, and whose application outlines a legitimate use for the funds to support the successful completion of the research higher degree.

Confirmed PhD candidates are invited to apply in October or November each year.

The Helen Kay PhD Scholarship 

Established in 2001, this scholarship commemorates the work and life of a promising young scholar of Australian literature, life writing and the environment, Helen Kay.  Helen was a postgraduate research student who died in 1999 while completing her degree in the School.  The Helen Kay scholarship is a completion scholarship which offers a three month stipend to assist a PhD student in the School to complete their degree.  Donations from Marie and Alf Berry established the scholarship in memory of their grand-daughter with the School providing matching funding. 

Applications must be submitted to the HDR Administrative Officer by the due date.  

The scholarship may not be held concurrently with another award.  

Applications currently open and will close 12 December 2022. 


The A. E. E. Pearse Prize

Established in 1993, the A. E. E. Pearse Prize is awarded annually to a School postgraduate for the best article in literary or cultural studies submitted to a scholarly journal.  It is maintained by the income of a bequest from the late Archibald Ernest Edgar Pearse.  Previous winners include:

  • 2023: TBA
  • 2022 Meg Thomas
  • 2021 Rosie Clarke
  • 2020 Shastra Deo
  • 2019 not awarded
  • 2018 Sarah Holland-Batt
  • 2017 Jacob Warren
  • 2016 Margaret Cook
  • 2015 Wilson Koh
  • 2014 Elliott Logan
  • 2013 Wilson Koh
  • 2012 Paul Davies
  • 2011 Xanthe Ashburner
  • 2010 Rebecca Hazleden
  • 2009 Natalie Owen-Jones
  • 2008 Shared between - Matthew Campora and Andrew Williamson
  • 2007 Abigail Dennis
  • 2006 Kylie Cardell
  • 2005 Estelle Castro
  • 2004 Emma Cox
  • 2003 Shared between - Robert Clarke and William Hatherell
  • 2002 Peta Mitchell
  • 2001 Shared between - Kate Douglas and Elizabeth Hall-Downs

Dr John McCulloch Memorial Prize 

Established in 2011, the Dr John McCulloch Memorial Prize is awarded to the best paper presented by an RHD student to the annual Work-In-Progress Conference (WiP).

  • 2023 Maria-Gemma Brown 
  • 2022 Rosie Clarke
  • 2021 Christian Rizzalli
  • 2020 Saran Singh
  • 2019 Renee Mickelburgh
  • 2018 Robyn Gulliver
  • 2017 Jill Barker
  • 2016 Jamie Freestone
  • 2015 Giang Nguyen
  • 2014 Prateek
  • 2013 Chari Larsson
  • 2012 Prithvi Varatharajan
  • 2011 Elliott Logan

Dr Melanie McKenzie Postgraduate Teaching Excellence Award 

Established in 2015, the Dr Melanie McKenzie Postgraduate Teaching Excellence Award recognises the outstanding pedagogical dedication of Research Higher Degree students who work as sessional teachers in the School of Communication and Arts.  The award commemorates Dr Melanie McKenzie, who made a valuable contribution to the School as a teacher and a researcher while she was a postgraduate student.

  • 2023: Lisa Enright
  • 2022 Bernadette Huber
  • 2021 Kiah Hawker
  • 2020 Daniel Cruz Lopez and Kathleen Jennings
  • 2019 Matthew Cipa
  • 2018 Meg Vann
  • 2017 Amber Gwynne
  • 2016 Jessica Hughes
  • 2015 David Richard

Further Financial Assistance for HDR Students

The UQ Graduate School manages scholarships that cover tuition fees, overseas student health cover, and a living stipend, which is paid fortnightly to students. Potential students can apply at any time for admission to higher degree by research programs. Candidates who wish to be considered for scholarship should note that there are two scholarship selection rounds per year. Please see the Graduate School Scholarships website for detailed information and timelines.

Once enrolled, confirmed students can apply to the Graduate School for a Candidate Development Award, which provides funding for professional development, placements, industry experience, and conference presentations.

To facilitate PhD candidate career development and engagement with the Career Development Framework, UQ is offering the Career Development Scholarship Extension (CDSE) – an optional, additional stipend extension of up to 6-months, to enable the completion of activities that build the transferable and professional skills of PhD candidates.