Writing research in the School of Communication and Arts is a creative and critical discipline committed to the creation, dissemination and critical reception of works of artistic merit. Researchers work individually and collaboratively across a wide range of literary genres, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays. The School's creative outputs are critically acclaimed and have made significant contributions to the shape and conception of the Australian literary canon.

Some of Australia’s most awarded and respected writers are alumni of UQ’s School of English: Thea Astley (four time winner of the Miles Franklin Awards); Rodney Hall (two time winner of the Miles Franklin Award, winner of the Victorian Premier’s Award for Fiction); David Malouf (winner of the Miles Franklin Award and the International IMPAC Dublin Prize and also shortlisted for the Booker Prize).

UQ's Postgraduate Research Creative Writing Program is the largest and best in the country. Graduates of its prestigious Master and PhD programs have won nearly all the major national awards including the Miles Franklin Award, the Australian / Vogel National Literary Award, the Queensland, NSW and Victorian Premiers’ Literary Awards, and many others.